Should You Allow Your Laptop or Desktop PC To Be Discoverable To Other Devices Over The WiFi Network? What Does It Do? - PC SEEKERS

Should You Allow Your Laptop or Desktop PC To Be Discoverable To Other Devices Over The WiFi Network? What Does It Do?

 

Every time you connect your laptop or desktop PC to a new WiFi Network, after you have entered the password to the WiFi network (assuming the WiFi Network is password protected) you are greeted with the following questions first up

Do you want to allow your PC to be discoverable by other PCs and devices on this network?

 

Also Read: Securing Your WiFi

 

For which you have to answer in 'Yes' or 'No'. So what should you do in that case? What does this feature even do? Let's learn.

 

What Does This Feature Do?

This feature is designed so that the users can share files and printers over the WiFi network to all the devices that are connected to the same WiFi network. When you turn on discoverability in Windows 10, Windows will search for other PCs that are connected to the same WiFi network and are discoverable on it. This feature is automatically turned on when you are connected to a Private Network and turned off when you are connected to a Public Network.

 

When Should You Choose 'Yes'?

If you are connected to a Private network like a home or an office network then you can use this feature to share files and printers across devices that are connected to the same network. Just select 'Yes' when prompted.

 

If you are connected to a Public Network and still want your PC or device to be detected by other devices because you need to share a few files with some other device on the network then select 'Yes'. Though we do not recommend you do this. We have an alternate method which can be much more secure if you ever need to share files in a coffee shop.


Alternate Method If You Are In A Coffee Shop:

If you are at a coffee shop or a Metro station and suddenly you get the need to share files with another user and do not have access to a private network nor a USB device then you can turn on Hotspot on your smartphone by going to Settings on your smartphone → Network & Internet →  Hotspot & tethering → Toggle 'WiFi hotspot' On. Make sure you turn on 'WPA2' encryption and put a unique and difficult to guess password.

 

This should give you a secure Private network that you can connect your device and the other device to share your files over the network without leaving your files vulnerable to hackers.

 

Also Read: FREE - Make Your Old Laptop/PC Fast

 

When Should You Choose 'No'?

If you are connected to a public network like at a Railway station or a coffee shop, then you are better off selecting 'No' as this feature can make your shared folder appear on other devices (if you have allowed access to everybody on the network on your PC) who you have not even met in person.

 

If you are on a private network and still do not wish to share files with other devices on the network then there is no harm in selecting 'No' when prompted.


How To Change A Network From Private to Public & Vice-versa?

To do this open the Settings app from the Start Menu or press Win+I → Network & Internet → Under the WiFi Network name click on Properties → then select 'Private' or 'Public' whichever is appropriate.

 


Also Read: Save Multiple Texts/Items on Clipbaord in Windows 10

 

Do you want me to write a post on how to share files and printers over the network from a host computer to other devices connected to the network? Do let me know down in the comments section below.

3 comments:

  1. Yes. Very good topic my dear. Please keep on posting. I love reading your content ❤️

    ReplyDelete
  2. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete

•Comments should be written in English.
•Spam and promotional links are not allowed in comments and will be deleted.
•Outgoing links to relevant articles are allowed in the comments, but the comment should also be relevant to the article.
•Comments containing abusive or offensive language or content will be deleted. This includes abusive, offensive, attacking, threatening, vulgar and/or misleading content or language.
•Comments that attack or harass any individual will be deleted.
•PC Seekers Moderators have the right to edit or delete any comment submitted to the site without any prior notice.
•If you have any queries about the commenting policy, do let us know through the Contact Us page.